The Spring Point Ledge Lighthouse will be open this weekend, Saturday and Sunday, May 23rd and 24th, to mark the 118th anniversary of the first lighting of the lighthouse. Keeper William A. Lane first lit the lantern, placing the lighthouse in service, at sunset on May 24th, 1897. The lighthouse will be open from 11:00 AM until 3:00 PM both days and admission is $5.00 per person. All proceeds go to the maintenance and operation of the lighthouse.
To mark the occasion, we will have two special guests on Sunday, May 24th. Graphic artist Alan Claude, who has produced an art series featuring lighthouses all over Maine, this year added Spring Point Ledge Lighthouse to his gallery. He will be with us on Sunday and will be available to sign any prints purchased by the public.
Also scheduled to be on hand are Paul and Holly, whose company, Maine Coast Roast of Biddeford, produces our delicious private-label coffee in both grind and whole beans. Samples will be available for tasting and the product will be available for purchase.
Please plan to come out and see us, enjoy a unique tour of the lighthouse, enjoy a cup of fresh-brewed coffee, and admire the beautiful Spring Point Ledge Lighthouse print Alan Claude has produced for us. We’ll throw in sunshine and fresh air for free.